What is jomdance?

jazz-oriental-modern-dance = jomdance

After 15 years of Middle Eastern dance, Said el Amir thought he had learned everything that can be learned in this field ... until he attended the three-week summer school at the renowned school Iwanson in Munich. This intensive training changed his worldview and his understanding of stage dance in general and in particular.

 

Yes, the tradition, the folklore and the sophistication in Middle Eastern dances were certainly well founded. But the world of stage dance from the perspective of contemporary dance, jazz dance and contemporary ballet opened up completely new dimensions for art of Middle Eastern dance and its reputation.

 

Consequentially and consistently, Said completed 2.5 years of technical training with 6 hours of lessons a day in ballet, jazz dance, modern dance, contemporary dance, dance medicine and dance pedagogy at the Iwanson School.

Why jomdance?

Tradition meets Stage-Knowhow

After a few workshops at home and abroad on the topic of "Western influences in Middle Eastern dance" it became obvious that there was an enormous need, a great thirst for knowledge and a very large gap in the field of qualified dancers and teachers.

 

In the early years of the 2000s, Middle Eastern influences increasingly came into western music and vice versa western influences into Middle Eastern music. The discrepancy between dance know-how, in order to be able to interpret the music adequately, and the performances on the part of oriental dancers on stage became bigger and bigger.

 

Building on the training concept from ESTODA - ESsential Technique of Oriental DAnce - from 1996, which he launched together with Yasmin al Ghazali in 2001, Said developed in 2004 the two-year part-time training to become a "jomdance stage dancer".

The jomdance effect

Eye-opening, supportive, groundbreaking - after jomdance, nothing is what it was

Although oriental dance is not originally a stage dance, it has increasingly developed there over the past 100 years, but has never had a thorough adjustment to its form of performance.

 

Mahmoud Reda with his Reda Troupe developed a first form of stage performance of folklore dances in the 1960s. The oriental dance or on Raqs Sharqi, however, has missed the mark in this regard.

 

Leading dancers of the oriental dance scene in Germany, Austria and Switzerland recognized the potential of jomdance early on and took advantage of the hour to complete the jomdance training of Said el Amir. Some of them danced in large productions such as Bellydance Evolution by Jillina Carlano; some of whom have had the leading roles and / or been cast several times due to the outstanding dance techniques in various disciplines.

 

Some of the dancers we have trained are now internationally sought-after performers and lecturers.

 

Through the intensive training of cross-dance techniques and the corresponding, necessary background knowledge that is imparted in the jomdance training, the form of representation of Middle Eastern dance on stages has changed significantly since 2004 in the German-speaking countries.

Was ist jomdance?

jazz-oriental-modern-dance = jomdance

Nach 15 Jahren Oriental-Tanz dachte Said el Amir, er hätte alles gelernt, was man im Oriental-Tanz so lernen kann... bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem er die dreiwöchige Summer School an der renommierten Schule Iwanson in München besuchte. Diese intensive Schulung veränderte sein Weltbild und sein Verständnis für Bühnentanz im Allgemeinen und im Speziellen. 

Ja, die Tradition, die Folklore und die Raffinesse im Oriental-Tanz war sicher fundiert vorhanden. Doch die Welt des Bühnentanzes aus Sicht des Contemporary Dance, des Jazz Dance und des zeitgenössischen Balletts eröffneten ganz neue Dimensionen für den Oriental-Tanz und dessen Renommé. 

Folgerichtig und konsequent absolvierte Said 2,5 Jahre Techniktraining mit täglich 6 Stunden Unterricht in Ballett, Jazz Dance, Modern Dance, Contemporary Dance, Tanzmedizin und Tanzpädagogik an der Iwanson-Schule. 

Warum jomdance?

Tradition trifft Bühnen-Knowhow

Nach schon wenigen Workshops im In- und Ausland zum Thema „Westliche Einflüsse im Oriental-Tanz“ wurde klar, dass hier ein enormer Bedarf, ein großer Wissensdurst und eine sehr große Lücke im Bereich der befähigten Tänzer*innen, respektive Lehrer*innen gab. 

In den ersten Jahren der 2000er kamen zunehmend orientalische Einflüsse in die westliche Musik und umgekehrt westliche Einflüsse in die orientalische Musik. Die Diskrepanz zwischen tänzerischem Knowhow, um die Musik adäquat interpretieren zu können, und den Darbietungen seitens Oriental-Tänzer*innen auf Bühnen wurde immer größer.

So entwickelte Said aufbauend auf dem Ausbildungskonzept von ESTODA - ESsential Technique of Oriental DAnce - aus dem Jahre 1996, welches er zusammen mit Yasmin al Ghazali 2001 auf den Markt brachte, 2004 die zweijährige, berufsbegleitende Ausbildung zur „jomdance-Bühnentänzerin“. 

Der jomdance-Effekt

Augenöffnend, unterstützend, wegweisend - Nach jomdance ist nichts mehr wie es war

Obwohl der Oriental-Tanz im Ursprung kein Bühnentanz ist, entwickelte er sich in den letzten 100 Jahren zunehmend dorthin, ohne jedoch jemals eine fundierte  Anpassung seiner Darbietungsform zu erfahren.

Mahmoud Reda mit seiner Reda Troupe hat in den 1960er Jahren eine erste Form der Bühnendarbietung von Folkloretänzen entwickelt. Der Oriental-Tanz oder auf Raqs Sharqi hat diesbezüglich jedoch den Anschluss verpasst.

 

Früh haben führende Tänzer*innen der Oriental-Tanz-Szene in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz das Potenzial von jomdance erkannt und die Gunst der Stunde genutzt, die jomdance-Ausbildung von Said el Amir zu absolvieren und in großen Produktionen wie denen der Bellydance Evolution von Jillina Carlano zu tanzen, von denen einige die Hauptrollen inne hatten und/oder mehrfach aufgrund der herausragenden Tanztechniken in verschiedenen Disziplinen gecastet wurden.

Einige unter anderem durch uns ausgebildete Tänzer*innen sind mittlerweile international begehrte Performer und Dozent*innen. 

 

Durch das intensive Training von Tanzsparten-übergreifendenen Techniken und dem entsprechenden, notwendigen Hintergrundwissen, das in der jomdance-Ausbildung vermittelt wird, hat sich die Darstellungsform des Oriental-Tanzes auf Bühnen seit 2004 in den deutschsprachigen Ländern maßgeblich gewandelt. 

Wir sind Mitglied bei

ta.med_Logo

Darauf bauen wir auf

Mini_Banner_ZAM.png
Mini_Banner_MASTER.png

© 2020 jomdance-science • Said el Amir • München

jomdance_Logo