What is Dance Science?

Science in & for Dance

Dance science is still a very young science compared to other sciences. In simple words, you could see dance science as a counterpart to sports science.

 

Building on the knowledge gained from sports science, dance science is about using the existing empirical knowledge of sports science for dance and adapting it to dance. The wheel is not reinvented, it is only adapted to the user.
 

Tradition meets Modern

From Tradition to Modern

As a traditional ethno-cultural dance form, Middle Eastern dance is not subject to strict rules like ballet. Still, like in any tradition, there are things you can do and others that should not be done. This requires detailed and solid background knowledge.

 

Like every art evolves in the course of its existence, so it is in Middle Eastern dance. From the original dance of the people (Shaabi) a stage dance has developed over the past 100 years, which is subjected to similar criteria as jazz dance, modern dance or even partly ballet. It follows that new and completely different things have to pour into the classroom in order to meet the growing demands of pupils, students and spectators.

How does jomdance use Dance Science?

Development and promotion of pedagogy and didactics in Middle Eastern dance

With the numerous but sometimes dubious dance and teaching videos on the Internet on the one hand and the often excellent performances at shows on the other hand, but also taking the knowledge into account that there is often a lot of ignorance among the teaching staff, which partly goes all the way to charlatanism, the demand for good, contemporary teaching grows, which meets the individual needs of the participants.

 

This is where jomdance-science comes in!

 

However, it is certainly clear that jomdance-science is not a science in a conventional sense. Rather, the goal of jomdance-science is to train teachers, to be able to offer teaching that is excellent in terms of pedagogy and didactics, based on scientific knowledge, and which can also be creative, individual, motivating, encouraging and demanding.

 

It is unimportant whether the participants have been teaching for a long time or are just thinking about giving lessons.

You can find your dates at „Bookings“.

Yasmin al Ghazali

jomdance-science, that is the quintessence of a life for oriental dance.

Said el Amir combines attention to detail from traditional folklore to the avant-garde with scientific knowledge from his (master's) studies. He imparts his knowledge through a solid theoretical background and more than 30 years of practice with a large portion of wonderful humor, which makes teaching with him not only extremely valuable, but also a pleasure.

Absolutely recommendable!

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,

Momo Kadous

I have known Said el Amir since 1987 and since then I have expected that from him: dance, science and history combined.

This curious boy and his talent; it is no wonder that we see and find him today in the place of the dance teacher and researcher.

Said el Amir, the man with a heart and a loyal soul to oriental dance, has brought together with jomdance-science what has long belonged together. That makes me proud.

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,

Wir sind Mitglied bei

ta.med_Logo

Darauf bauen wir auf

Mini_Banner_ZAM.png
Mini_Banner_MASTER.png

© 2020 jomdance-science • Said el Amir • München

Was ist Dance Science?

Wissenschaft im & für Tanz

Die Dance Science ist eine noch recht junge Wissenschaft im Vergleich zu anderen Wissenschaften. In einfachen Worten könnte man die Dance Science als Pendant zur Sportwissenschaft sehen.

 

Auf den Erkenntnissen aus der Sportwissenschaft aufbauend geht es in der Dance Science darum, das bereits vorhandene empirische Wissen der Sportwissenschaften für den Tanz zu nutzen und an Tanz anzupassen. Das Rad wird nicht neu erfunden, es wird nur dem Benutzer angepasst.

Tradition trifft Moderne 

Von Tradition zu Moderne

Der Oriental-Tanz ist als traditionell ethno-kulturelle Tanzform nicht wie z. B. Ballett strengen Regeln unterworfen. Dennoch gibt es wie in jeder Tradition Dinge, die man tun kann und andere, die man besser sein lassen sollte. Dazu ist ausführliches und solides Hintergrundwissen erforderlich.

Wie jede Kunst sich im Laufe ihrer Existenz weiterentwickelt, so ist es auch im Oriental-Tanz. Aus dem ursprünglichen Tanz des Volkes (Shaabi) hat sich über die letzten 100 Jahre auch ein Bühnentanz entwickelt, der ähnlichen Kriterien unterworfen wird wie dem Jazz Dance, Modern Dance oder sogar zum Teil dem Ballett. Daraus folgt, dass neue und ganz andere Dinge in den Unterricht einfließen müssen, um den gewachsenen Ansprüchen seitens der Schüler*innen, Student*innen und Zuschauer*innen gerecht zu werden.

Wie nutzt jomdance die Dance Science?

Aufbau & Förderung
von Pädagogik und Didaktik im Oriental-Tanz

Mit den einerseits zahlreichen jedoch teils zweifelhaften Tanz- und Unterrichtsvideos im Internet, den andererseits oft exzellenten Performances bei Shows, aber auch dem Wissen darum, dass rund um das Metier oft viel Unwissen bei den Lehrenden herrscht, die bis hin zur Scharlatanerie geht, steigt auch der Anspruch an guten, zeitgenössischen Unterricht, der auf den individuellen Bedarf der Teilnehmenden eingeht.

 

Hier setzt die jomdance-science an!

Es ist jedoch sicher klar, dass die jomdance-science keine Wissenschaft im herkömmlichen Sinne ist. Das Ziel der jomdance-science ist es vielmehr, Lehrer*innen zu schulen, einen pädagogisch-didaktisch exzellenten Unterricht anbieten zu können, der auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen beruht und zudem kreativ, individuell, motivierend, fördernd und fordernd zugleich sein kann, ist das Ziel der jomdance-science.

Dabei ist es unwichtig, ob die Teilneher*innen nun schon lange als Lehrende tätig sind oder erst mit den Gedanken spielen, einmal Unterricht geben zu wollen.

Unsere Seminare findest du unter „Buchen“.

Yasmin al Ghazali

jomdance-science, das ist die Quintessenz eines Lebens für den orientalischen Tanz.

Said el Amir verbindet Detailgenauigkeit von traditioneller Folklore bis hin zur Avantgarde mit wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen aus seinen (Master)Studien. Er vermittelt sein Wissen durch soliden theoretischen Hintergrund und über 30-jähriger Praxis mit einer großen Portion herrlichen Humors, die den Unterricht bei ihm nicht nur extrem wertvoll, sondern auch zum Vergnügen machen.

Unbedingt empfehlenswert!

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,

Momo Kadous

Ich kenne Said el Amir seit 1987 und seitdem habe ich das von ihm erwartet: Tanz, Wissenschaft und Geschichte vereint.

Dieser neugierige Junge und seine Begabung; es ist kein Wunder, dass wir ihn heute auf dem Platz des Tanzlehrers und Forschers sehen und finden.

Said el Amir, der Mann mit Herz und treuer Seele zum orientalischen Tanz, hat mit jomdance-science das zusammengeführt, was längst zusammen gehört. Das erfüllt mich mit Stolz.

  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
jomdance_Logo